Bild

Hiking tips

"Walking is the most perfect way to get around if you want to discover real life.
It is the way to freedom."
(Elizabeth von Arnim, English writer)

Hiking on the Kellerwaldsteig

The Kellerwald-Edersee Nature Park is located in northern Hesse west of Kassel and surrounds the national park of the same name.
Nestled in this landscape is Lake Edersee, surrounded by forests, villages and steep slopes.

The Kellerwaldsteig trail connects the National Park with the Nature Park. There are a total of eight stages to complete on the 160-kilometre main route, marked with the red logo. Some cross connections, marked with the green logo, make it possible to divide the trail into a north, south and west loop. The trail has been awarded the "Wanderbares Deutschland" quality mark!

More information is available at our hotel reception and can be found at www.kellerwaldsteig.de

"I do not wish to be rich or to win fame,
Neither will I be free from toil and trouble
But one thing I ask of you, Lord God, with all my heart:
Lord let me wander until the last day!"
(From a Summit Book)

Hiking on the primeval forest trail

On the southern shore of the Eder reservoir, the Kellerwald National Park was opened in 2004 in the Kellerwald Nature Park. This large, unfragmented deciduous forest area is particularly worthy of protection as a refuge for ancient beech stands similar to primeval forests, forest meadow valleys and oaks, some of which are close to a thousand years old. Damp gorges with ash and mountain elm trees, orchid meadows and fields of peony cloves are just as fascinating as the shy black stork, the many woodpecker species, the eagle owl, the numerous bats and the rare wildcat. Rare species such as stag and longhorn beetles live in the many old and dead woods.

The 70 km long Urwaldsteig (primeval forest trail), designated as a "Quality Trail Hiking Germany" and marked with a blue logo, leads around Lake Edersee and can be hiked in several stages. It goes over hill and dale on narrow paths through a mysterious world of plants and animals. In between, there are always wonderful views of the landscape and Lake Edersee. It's not every day that you get to be right in the middle of a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

More information is available at our hotel reception and can be found at www.urwaldsteig-edersee.de

3 photos: Edersee Touristic GmbH – powerwalkers.de – Martin Prasch

en_GBEnglish (UK)

Bild

Wandertipps

„Wandern ist die vollkommenste Art der Fortbewegung, wenn man das wahre Leben entdecken will.
Es ist der Weg in die Freiheit.“
(Elizabeth von Arnim, englische Schriftstellerin)

Wandern auf dem Kellerwaldsteig

Der Naturpark Kellerwald-Edersee liegt in Nordhessen westlich von Kassel und umschließt den gleichnamigen Nationalpark.
Eingebettet in diese Landschaft ist der von Wäldern, Dörfern und steilen Hängen umgebene Edersee.

Der Kellerwaldsteig verbindet den Nationalpark mit dem Naturpark. Insgesamt acht Etappen gilt es zu bewältigen auf der 160 Kilometer langen Hauptstrecke, markiert mit dem roten Logo. Einige Querverbindungen, die mit dem grünen Logo gekennzeichnet sind, ermöglichen die Unterteilung in eine Nord-, Süd- und Westschleife. Der Steig ist als „Qualitätsweg Wanderbares Deutschland“ ausgezeichnet!

Nähere Informationen erhalten Sie an unserer Hotelrezeption und finden Sie unter www.kellerwaldsteig.de

„Nicht reich sein will ich und nicht Ruhm gewinnen,
auch frei sein nicht von Müh und Plag.
Um eines aber bitt ich Herrgott Dich von Herzen:
Herr lass mich wandern bis zum letzten Tag!“
(Aus einem Gipfelbuch)

Wandern auf dem Urwaldsteig

Am Südufer des Ederstausees wurde im Jahre 2004 der Nationalpark Kellerwald im Naturpark Kellerwald eröffnet. Besonders schützenswert ist dieses große, unzerschnittene Laubwaldgebiet als Refugium für urwaldähnliche Altbuchenbestände, Waldwiesentäler und Eichen, von denen einige an die tausend Jahre alt sind. Feuchte Schluchten mit Eschen und Bergulmen, Orchideenwiesen und Pfingstnelkenfluren faszinieren genauso wie der scheue Schwarzstorch, die vielen Spechtarten, der Uhu, die zahlreichen Fledermäuse und die seltene Wildkatze. In den vielen Alt- und Tothölzern leben so seltene Arten
wie Hirsch- und Bockkäfer.

Der 70 km lange Urwaldsteig, ausgezeichnet als „Qualitätsweg Wanderbares Deutschland“, gekennzeichnet mit einem blauen Logo, führt um den Edersee herum und kann in mehreren Etappen erwandert werden. Es geht über Stock und Stein auf schmalen Pfaden durch eine geheimnisvolle Pflanzen- und Tierwelt. Zwischendurch hat man immer wieder herrliche Ausblicke in die Landschaft und auf den Edersee.
Mittendrin zu sein in einem UNESCO-Weltnaturerbe hat man ja nicht alle Tage.

Nähere Informationen erhalten Sie an unserer Hotelrezeption und finden Sie unter www.urwaldsteig-edersee.de

3 Fotos: Edersee Touristic GmbH – powerwalkers.de – Martin Prasch